Happy new year to you

20161229_155855

At the moment, the skies around us look like this twice a day for around an hour or so each day.  While vitamin D is hard to come by at this time of year, vitamin N(ature) is always in great supply, even in a car-filled, residentually-dense city like ours.  We have tried to be out of the house to catch the skies at their most colourful and having my kids with me reminds me just how magical the world around us is ALL of the time.

How was your break?  Mine was very relaxing and filled with lovely get-togethers with friends.  Aside from the moment shortly after waking on Christmas Day when I realised I had a cold, there has been so little self-made stress around the holidays this year.  I hope we might be able to remember this formula for years to come.

Do you do new year’s resolutions?  I kind of do.  Never of the “lose ten pounds” or “give up smoking” or “join a gym” variety.  But rather I like to think of all the things I would like to do more of.  This year I would like to make more time for reading.  So much so, that once I have finished watching Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and re-watched Hunt for the Wilderpeople I might cancel my netflix subscription.  Oh boy.  Them’s fighting words.

In addition to reading more, I would like to occasionally choose to find information away from the internet.  A couple of days ago I collected a bucket of lichen (just for something to do with a 4 year old, in case you’re wondering), and I thought, “I should go to the library and see if there’s a book that will tell me the names of these different lichens”.  I then remembered “uh, the internet.”  But then I thought about how lovely it would be to actually flick through a lichen book and not get sucked down a rabbit-hole of never-ending information that I never really wanted to know in the first place.

A couple of days ago, after a bit of work in the garden, we ate our lunch outside.  It was cold, but energizing.  We eat outside a lot in the summer, but I would like to more.  Even when it is cold.  Our living room/dining room is lined with highly absorbent carpet, and it completely stresses me out eating on it 3+ times a day.  But also, don’t you think that food always tastes better outside?

I also want to walk more with friends.  Walking with kids is waaaaay easier with other kids.  I have a dream to have a regular walking/nature club in my local area.  There are such beautiful places to walk that don’t even require a car to get to (!) and I would love to do that with other people.  And maybe even eat outside with them.

I tend to give myself the whole of January to think about these things, so don’t be surprised if I come back to you on 31 Jan with another bunch of things I would like to incorporate into my life in a low-pressure way.  It is also a great time of year to plan the next steps in the garden so a part of my brain is dedicated to recording the names of plants I would like to plant in spring.  Ooh exciting.

 

5 thoughts on “Happy new year to you

  1. Sarah (@SarahRooftops) says:

    I would absolutely be in that group! There’s a sling/buggy/toddler walk at, eh, the great big park a 30 minute walk down the hill which I’m planning to go to (and which might be of interest?) but something a little closer to home would be even better.

    Like

  2. slowgrowingblog says:

    oooh… I didn’t know about that group! I might come with you one day… (although perhaps you know what I mean when I say it is sometimes a pain to have to walk to get to the walk).
    But let’s talk more in person about making something in this neck of the woods. We’d love to walk in your company!

    Like

  3. Emma says:

    I’ve been loving the sunrises and sunsets this winter and really drinking them in. I feel like they’ve never been this spectacular on a daily basis before, but maybe it’s just that this year I’ve been either at home by my window or commuting at those times. I used to live in a 4th floor flat near ARI and I remember seeing some beautiful ones there too, so maybe it’s just a case of being in the right place at the right time.
    I like your resolutions. I’m definitely much more of a fan of the “it would be nice to do this this year, but if I don’t, there’s always next year” annual bucket list rather than “I must do this or I’ve failed” resolutions too.

    Like

    • slowgrowingblog says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean, Emma. I don’t remember the sunrises in our last flat, closer to Aberdeen Uni, but I think that’s just because our west windows were filled with a view of buildings. I think I am, like you, just out and about more at the right times. What a nice bonus!
      And yay for low-pressure resolutions/bucket list items!

      Like

Leave a Reply

