Three things: beaches, bonnets, and books

20170110_134007

We’ve had some beautiful, clear days this week (and some snow!) and I have been to the beach with the kids twice. My four year old tested the limits of his waterproof trousers (turns out they let water into his boots if he stands in thigh-high water).  And my 9 month old ate pinches of sand as though they were crumbs from our kitchen floor.

20170113_090044

This week also I have been working on these little bonnets for a couple of new babies and a baby on the way.  Do you know this blog?  I found the pattern in her beautiful book.  It also has the basis for a christening gown I am working on… more on that when/if it’s finished…

And books.  I always look forward to these annual “best books of the year” conversations on Radio New Zealand, and this last one has a bunch I want to read (including another one from Ron Rash, whose books I devoured in the early weeks of my first child’s life, strangely enough).  But before I get into any of those, I have a wee pile forming on my mantelpiece, including Māori Boy by Witi Ihimaera (exciting!) and Silent Spring by Rachel Carson (which I have decided to actually read and no longer just pretend I’ve read).  What books are on your list right now?

Leave a Reply

