Three things: turmeric, turkish delight tea, and a blogger-friend in the ‘hood

20170120_090932

This beautiful bag of turmeric arrived in our veggie box yesterday and I am contemplating what to do with it.  I thought, after making a couple of curries, maybe we could get a bit experimental and either try growing some or dyeing one of my four-year-old’s off-white merino layers.

thumb_20170116_170600_1024

Feeling uncharacteristically tea-adventurous last week (I usually stick with black, rooibus, fennel, or nettle–told you, unadventurous) I decided to blend a few bits and pieces in my cupboard: a few rose buds, a few hibiscus tendrils, and a crushed cardamom pod.  I call it ‘Turkish Delight Tea’ and I can’t stop drinking it. The second infusion is even better than the first.

This week I met up with my new-found-neighbour-and-fellow-blog-writer-friend, Sarah for a cuppa, with our kids enjoying one another’s company in the background. She is as smart and delightful in real life as as she is on her blog. Her daughter, 21 months or so, and L. hit it off. They trailed around after one another through the flat, and two and a half hours later we realised everyone was still content and there had been no tears. A successful get-together indeed!

One thought on “Three things: turmeric, turkish delight tea, and a blogger-friend in the ‘hood

Leave a Reply

