Three things: Summer, student loan debt, and a short story

20170517_154414

Summer holidays are here! We are going away for a couple of days in the middle, but for the most part we are sticking around Aberdeen. Every Friday we plan to meet up with friends for a play and a walk in a different beautiful and local spot (including the Cruickshank Gardens, where we found this wee “campfire” recently). This is pretty much my entire plan for getting through the (seven week long!) holidays, and I am starting to wonder if I might need a few more tricks up my sleeve…

Do you have student loan debt? I do, and I know a lot of people who do–here in the UK, in the USA, and in New Zealand. I really appreciated this two-part series from the podcast Death, Sex, Money. It definitely made me feel less alone with it all.

I wrote a short story for the Scottish Book Trust’s community writing project on the theme of Nourish. You can read it over here, if you like.

Leave a Reply

